Team Action Sports
75F / 24C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 24m 30s
Overall Rank = 8/34
Age Group = Cat 5
Age Group Rank = 8/34
Pre-race routine:

First road race....I drove up to Bakersfield the night before just to make the morning a little easier. I had a smallish breakfast and drove out to the start. I was only about 15 minutes away but wanted to get there kind of early. I've never done one of these before so I was a little unsure how the process goes and how fast registration is etc etc. I was also on my own and I knew I'd have to pin my own number which can be a daunting task in and of itself. As I've discovered with bike racing, registration was a snap. I walked up and they handed me a number and off I went.

Event warmup:

I headed back to the truck to unload the bike and trainer and get a bit of a warmup in. I'm still recovering a bit from last weekend's Mulholland Challenge. That race turned out to be 560TSS and you don't just bounce back from that...that's some people's weekly totals. I'm also not a huge fan of warming up. I don't know why but I don't really find much benefit. For me, personally, it's really just to get over that initial shock of doing work and I'm set to go. So 15 minutes on the trainer was good.
Bike
  • 1h 24m 30s
  • 29 miles
  • 20.59 mile/hr
Comments:

This kind of went down the way I expected. The first 5-6 miles was a short downhill followed by a long flat stretch. I knew there was nothing to do here so I just sat in and kept an eye on the leaders.