Cellcom Green Bay Marathon
85F / 29C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 53m 20s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Well, first of all - I was fortunate to be one of the people who got to finish the race so take this pre-semi-whining and set-up with a grain of salt.

I started training for this race 4 months ago with the intent to run at least a hair faster than my PR of 1:50 - really felt like I was capable of pulling off a 1:48 or 1:49. Started following the 'Run Less, Run Faster' plan - which sounds completely gimmicky until you get about 4 weeks into the plan and realize those workouts are no joke! I was able to keep up with the plan pretty well - and it paid off for the most part early on. It helped me to a 5k PR and I really enjoyed the hard running.

But about a month ago, I started falling off the plan due to a number of factors, the main one being that I've got a funky thing going on just above my ankle but really - the workouts just started to feel daunting. I was still nailing the track workouts but I started to struggle to keep pace during the long runs and the tempo run? Oh, forget it. I just threw in the towel on that one.

So I wasn't quite sure where I'd be at when I started the GB half - I felt strong but I also knew I'd slacked in the past month - according to the plan anyway. Realistically, I was still doing some good workouts - and I'd added in a boatload of hard, intense interval strength training so I felt like that would pay off as well. Wasn't sure how the ankle would hold up but figured adrenaline would get me through the day.

So basically - a whole bunch of questions.
Event warmup: