General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Shave 5 minutes off 20Km bike within a season - possible? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-10-30 1:12 AM

User image

Subject: Shave 5 minutes off 20Km bike within a season - possible?

Hello All,

I've been racing triathlons for 3 years now, early on focusing on sprints, moving up to Olys and HIM (one race) this season. For next season, I'm looking to go back to sprints, hoping for a few podiums.

Currently, my weakest leg is the bike (strongest being the run). I haven't done any intervals training during the past seasons - I mostly ride long climbs of long flat rides (training for the HIM). I spend about 6-8 weekly hours on the bike.

For next season (my goal race is about a year away from now), I'm looking to shave about 4-5 minutes from the 20Km bike leg of that goal race. I finished this season's 20Km leg at 36:30min , looking to go to around 32 minutes. From your experience, are this kind of gains possible within a year? Should I focus mostly on intervals (after all, 20Km TT is avery short one), or should I also stick to my long, hard rides?

2012-10-30 5:38 AM
in reply to: #4474653

Subject: RE: Shave 5 minutes off 20Km bike within a season - possible?

According  to my quick math that's about a 4 MPH increase---which is a lot for one season.

Not saying it can't be done, though. 

Good luck.

2012-10-30 6:01 AM

User image

Veteran
Hudsonville, MI

I was able to shave that much time off of my bike times in a year but I also upgraded from a road bike to Tri bike, purchased aero wheels and aero helmet.  You can gain speed with just equipment.  If you already have those things then gaining that much speed in a year may be difficult.  Your current 20k avg. speed is 20.4 mph and in order for you to get down to 32 minutes you have to avg. 23.3 mph.  I feel the only way to ride faster and sustain is to do intervals.  Long moderate pace rides will not get your body used to riding fast.  Just my opinion.