General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Recovery from an IM, how long was it for you? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-22 2:49 PM

User image

Elite
Subject: Recovery from an IM, how long was it for you?
Thanks for checking this thread out.....I just finished IMLP about 3-4 weeks ago and still not quite feeling right and was wondering how long is "normal" for recovery.

For the sake of this question I am considering "recovered" the state that I feel I was in about 4 weeks prior to the IM which being, though tired, able to do a century, hit a long run around 18, and swim 4000m with little trouble

I have been in tri specific training for 4 years , my first IM, but 3 HIM's and other assorted races(some people like to know this, so I am not a newbie but not a decade long triathlete). I am 41 rested 2 weeks no training after the race and have slowly gotten back into it over the last week and a half but swims over 2500, bike trainer workouts over an hour or 2-3 on the road or runs of even 9-10 are a battle and I am slow to recover this week from some of those sessions....generally when not training I feel great and have gotten my training frequency back to about 5-6 days a week but just lower volume.

Since I do not have an IM, mary or anything with big distances on the schedule so I am not looking to be at 20+ hrs a week in training but I am suprised that being 3-4 weeks out I am having as much difficulty doing "longish" workouts.

So how long till you felt "normal" or at least you felt good to really ramp up the training volume? thanks

Edited by FELTGood 2013-08-22 2:53 PM

2013-08-22 3:26 PM
in reply to: FELTGood

User image

Champion
Philly 'burbs
Subject: RE: Recovery from an IM, how long was it for you?