General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim Fins Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-12-19 7:35 PM

Subject: Swim Fins
I was looking at buying a pair of swim fins to work on my swimming. I am a beginner swimmer and was wondering what type of fins I should look at or what the experienced swimmers recommend.

Thanks in advance

2013-12-19 7:44 PM
in reply to: Run/BikertoTri

User image

Veteran
Great White North
Subject: RE: Swim Fins
Churchill surf fins.
2013-12-19 8:56 PM

User image

2013-12-20 8:16 AM

User image

Exton, PA
Don't, most people are hurting their stroke by using fins.

If you want to work on your kick get a kick board.
2013-12-20 8:57 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Master
Mechanicsburg, PA
Swim fins are a useful tool and like any tool each type of fin has different purposes. Swim fin specific and not surf or scuba fin is best to use.

Fins can developed leg strength (quads and hamstrings), increase ankle flexibility overtime and improve body position and technique. They kick your butt in helping you develop faster arm turnover.

Know what you want to accomplish with your kick first. Poor kick; use a longer generic swim fin. Better kick; a medium length fin like a TYR Crossblade. Good kick; well you could use any fin to supplement your workout, but a good tempo fin like Zoomers or Speedo Biofuse. Then again any combination could be useful. Just do not get hung up on them using them all the time.

You know you have a good kick if you can kick (back and front) the length of the pool without fins or a kick board.

EDIT
I could go on and there is a ton stuff I could ramble on about. Just a quick post via phone.

Edited by BrotherTri 2013-12-20 9:04 AM
2013-12-20 10:05 AM
in reply to: b2run

User image

Expert
Ontario Canada
Originally posted by b2run

zoomers