Other Resources The Political Joe » How do you pick your investments? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-25 9:07 AM

User image

Regular
LHOTP
Subject: How do you pick your investments?

Curious how others decide where and how to invest their money, both what product(s) and what sectors, if any.  Do you use a financial advisor? If not, how do you educate yourself about your choices?  If there is a specific learning tool (book, website, podcast) that you like, I'd love to hear about it :)

I have a few different products, 529s for each kid and 401ks from work, but talking with Tuwood has me wanting to learn about ETFs.  I only actively pick funds in one 401k account, and pretty much go with whatever the "very aggressive" growth recommendation is for the others (kids are 8,7,3 so I'm cool with that).  In the 401k I have been active with, I have been all healthcare/biotech, which has been great. That sector makes sense to me because of what I do for a living, and I guess I like it because I "believe" in it and understand it. 

2014-02-25 11:00 AM
in reply to: switch

User image

Pro
Omaha, NE
Subject: RE: How do you pick your investments?

I personally like index ETF's such as QQQ, SPY, and DIA because they track the main indexes which will always go up to some extent over time and predictably rise and fall with the economy as a whole. 

With an individual company equity it goes up and down with the sector to an extent, but ultimately it's truly tied to the individual company.  I worked for Worldcom in the late 90's and got to see first hand the collapse of an individual equity and how it effected many close friends so I've vowed to never own an individual equity ever again.

The cool part is that there are so many ETF's out there that you can get very focused with them to track whatever you want to invest in.