General Discussion Triathlon Talk » tri suit vs wet suit Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-20 8:46 PM

Subject: tri suit vs wet suit
I am very new to the sport have been riding swimming and running for 9 months going to compete this summer i have been reading rules on wet suits so does a tri suit comply to water temp rules or is that just a wet suit. for a mini sprint 400m to 750m swim 12 mile bike and 3.1 run would you ware a tri suit right on through all events. input welcome thanks

2014-03-20 8:52 PM
in reply to: blaze507

User image

Master
Subject: RE: tri suit vs wet suit
A tri suit has no flotation so it is fine in any event. A wet suit offers flotation so it corrects for some swimming flaws and makes most people faster. Some people would use the floatation to their advantage so that is where the temp rule comes in. A wet suit keeps you warm, but a tri suit doesn't. For a sprint, like you described, a trisuit is fine.
2014-03-20 9:28 PM
in reply to: pschriver

User image

You can check out triathlon clothes at swimoutlet or trisports. Generally a trisuit (one piece) will be less expensive than two piece (shorts and top). It is individual preference (I happen to prefer one piece trisuit). They fit tight, and you will want to wear it for a few workouts prior to your first race. Wetsuit goes over the trisuit. After the swim, you just peel it off and get ready for bike. I like wearing a wetsuit if temps allow it, and swim is at least 400 m. If you don't wear a trisuit (or tri shorts and top), it gets a little more complicated at transition. You will have to pull bike shorts over a swimsuit (no changing area), and it is hard to put any kind of shirt on (especially a tight one) when your torso is wet). There are a lot of good threads here that should answer a lot of questions, and have some recommendations for you. Number belt, for example, so you don't have to deal with safety pins. Have fun!
2014-03-21 2:44 AM
in reply to: jbrookscga78