General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need inspiration? Here's my story... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-24 8:39 AM

User image

Cheese Country
Subject: Need inspiration? Here's my story...
2006: It’s been a year of transition, challenge, and redefinition. I feel like I've just made the journey from caterpillar to beautiful butterfly. In January I set out to lose weight and redefine the way I live, eat, and feel. I did all the right things; talk to the doc, join the gym, got a trainer, read up on nutrition. It paid off, I lost 35 pounds by early summer! Woohoo! But by this time I also needed something to keep me motivated through the summer. Someone told me about the Waupaca WI Triathlon. While it sounded interesting I was skeptical at first thinking, “Oh, that’s big. I don’t know. I’m still a beginner at all this ‘fitness’ stuff!” If I only knew what lay ahead…

I decided what the heck, my only goal is to finish. I could at least finish, who cares how long it takes me? I started training and boy oh boy did I train; swimming, biking, running, and many days having to do two in one day. (Who’s idea was this anyway?!)
Trying very hard to remember one of my favorite lines, “Its the journey that counts not the destination!” So that means I’m supposed to be having fun during this training right?!
AND yes most of it was truly fun: getting to meet and hang out with many new people!

Like Sarah Reinertsen; The one and only above-the-knee amputee in the world to successfully finish the Hawaiian Iron Man. She’s totally normal and just like you and I! I couldn’t believe how down to earth, sweet and just plain “normal” she was! Huh… who’d have thought?!

I successfully completed 3 months of strict diet & training, now it’s a day before the event. Whew… I at least made it through training.