General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Powermeter Newbie Questions. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-06-09 5:48 PM

Subject: Powermeter Newbie Questions.
Hello all,
Newbie here. I have been reading lots of old threads and soaking up all your combined wisdom. Avid swimmer since HS and ran cross country in Uni, but cycling is the weak link for me. I have been relying on my bike computer and post in the interest of getting your take on bringing down my time and improving power on the cycling leg of races (have done HIMs thus far and planning on IMs soon). Roadie friend of mine swears by his powermeter, but I wanted to get a second opinion from people actually doing triathlons. Do you guys use them? Best one to get? Best place to buy, etc.
If not, why not? Are there cons?
Any and all opinions greatly appreciated.
Again, I am a bit of a newbie in this arena, so thank you in advance for your time!!!

K.

2016-06-10 6:23 PM
in reply to: TripleTriAngles

User image

Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Powermeter Newbie Questions.
I've been using a power meter about 8 months now. It's a great tool (if you're committed to using it). It depends on what your current bike training looks like. There's no right answer to what's best, it depends on what you need, for example do you want to be able to use it on different bikes, or will you be using different wheels for training vs. racing? DC Rainmaker has very thorough reviews of all of the options, so read up on those first. Power2Max, Quarq, and PowerTap are some typical choices. It depends on whether you want crank based, pedal based, or hub based. All have different pros/cons.

You can achieve great results training without a power meter - it's not a requirement in order to throw down a good bike split. But it certainly can help in terms of training and pacing during a race if you use it properly.
2016-06-24 8:44 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire