General Discussion Triathlon Talk » riding in the rain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-12 7:55 AM

Subject: riding in the rain
sorry for the stupid question, but im completely new to cycling and wanted to know if yall ride after a rain. and if so what safety precautions do you take or are they needed. was wondering how the tires gripped on a road bike. i know, stupid question, but dont wanna learn the hard way.

2016-07-12 8:01 AM
in reply to: bnsafe

Subject: RE: riding in the rain
nevermind, a bunch of past posts poped up bout the subject. think i will hit the gym today instead,
2016-07-12 9:24 AM

User image

Denver, Colorado
Originally posted by bnsafe

sorry for the stupid question, but im completely new to cycling and wanted to know if yall ride after a rain. and if so what safety precautions do you take or are they needed. was wondering how the tires gripped on a road bike. i know, stupid question, but dont wanna learn the hard way.

I actually do go for a ride when it rains or after the rain. Mostly because you never know the conditions on the race day. Therefore, I want to be prepared and know how it feels.
I just ride slower, especially when approaching the curves and corners. I am also way more focused.
2016-07-12 5:00 PM
in reply to: #5190477

In itself the concept isn't bad. I have ridden in rain, but I avoid it mostly in day to day training, but like above poster said, my last race this past weekend woke up and the world was soaking wet! I'm experienced and therefore fared well.

My best advice: painted road surfaces collect oil and are suuuuper slippery, avoid touching them with your wheels especially when turning. The white and yellow lines, crosswalk hashes...they are guaranteed to take you out on a fast turn if you aren't careful. But again, being careful and smart, riding in rain aint bad. It's fun on occasion.
2016-07-12 5:13 PM

Sarasota, Florida