General Discussion Race Reports! » Texas Man Triathlon - Sprint Distance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Texas Man Triathlon - Sprint Distance - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Irving, Texas
United States
80F / 27C
Precipitation
Total Time = 1h 38m 16s
Overall Rank = 190/415
Age Group = 24-29 M
Age Group Rank = 15/28
Pre-race routine:

I spent my time dodging raindrops. Unfortunately I'm not very good at it, so I was pretty wet. Other than that it was a whole lot of waiting.
Swim
  • 10m 36s
  • 500 yards
  • 02m 07s / 100 yards
Comments:

This was my first OWS triathlon, and nothing can prepare you for dealing with a bunch of overcompetitive 20somethings crawling over you. I tried to stay to the outside but my spotting sucks and I ended up on the inside of the lane. 500 yards isn't really enough to separate people out either, so I was getting hit for most of the swim. It doesn't help that I'm still not comfortable in the open water, and a couple times I had to turn onto my back and just kick to calm down. I was swimming too hard(partly because I didn't know who was about to crawl over me or who I was about to crawl over) and couldn't navigate well at all. Just a bad performance, though my time was reasonably good, all things considered.
What would you do differently?:

Stay to the outside, try to keep a straighter line. Throw more elbows than I receive.
Transition 1
  • 03m 40s
Comments:

I could have been faster obviously, but the swim left me shaken so I was trying to calm myself down and I took my time as a result. Transitions aren't really an area I push myself on too much anyway(I still have plenty of time I can save elsewhere) so this wasn't a big deal.

Bring a towel. I left the towel in the car because it was raining when we went to the setup(so having a towel seemed pointless) but by the time the race started the rain had stopped so it would have been nice drying off my feet before I put my socks on.