General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Thank You BT and BSC Multisport Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-11-05 7:47 AM

User image

Subject: Thank You BT and BSC Multisport
It was this time last year that I saw a thread about a coaching scholarship being offered for 2018. I had just finished my first year of triathlon and was really enjoying the new fitness and a new avenue to fuel my competitive flame. I spent a lot of my first year training in the gray zone. I never took my easy days easy enough and thus was never able to push my hard workouts as hard as they were supposed to be. I would try to cram in training and neglected to achieve some of the physical adaptation that prebuilt plans work to achieve.

We started off season training with a cycling block. I had purchased my first trainer and really enjoyed following weekly structured training with power data. I work in healthcare and have a schedule that doesn't allow for weekly prebuilt plans to easily adapt. I am also married with 3 children 7 and under. So, time tends to be a hot commodity. Weekly (sometimes daily) text strands allowed Scott to adjust my training plan and still keep it structured to achieve the desired adaptations and to keep me from injuring myself. I needed to be held back but I also knew that Scott was reviewing my data and that extra level of accountability helped me push just a little bit harder on those tough days.

Scott created a season long training plan taking into account family vacations and key races I wanted to make my A races. Overall, I ran my first 1/2 marathon, completed 1 Olympic, 1 sprint, and 2 HIM this year. One was WTC and the other was a local where I won my age group! Finally, to cap it all off I ran my first marathon only 4 weeks after my last HIM.