General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Out of shape cyclist and daddy. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-03-03 5:19 PM

Subject: Out of shape cyclist and daddy.
Hi, I'm Mark. I was a cyclist. I say was, because I feel like I'm not a sportsperson any more. I'm a guy who rides 16-18 mins to work and on occasion ups that to 40 min extension if i'm lucky. My background is in cycle time trialling, no running and minimal swimming as a kid.

I gave up racing when my girlfriend's mum became ill shortly after meeting her and I just couldn't justify 10-15hrs training whilst she was going down hill. Since then we have moved in, lost her mum, had a baby, got married, moved house, survived baby exhaustion, barely managed a lack of time, had another baby, survived baby and child exhaustion and now desperately rolling from day to day trying to survive two girls and a wife.

As it stands I feel trapped with no release. I recently met a lady who is doing an Ironman who I'd describe and anything other than sporty or 'the type' to do one. I have decided I need to have a go but all I get is, you can't even do one sport let alone three and am shot down in flames as if I'm being ridiculous. I know that to do it i'd need the backing of my family and I feel that I'm unlikely to get that.

I want to but can't see a way. I suggested that I see if I can physically run after an injury issue and was just shot down. I bought a pair of trainers and ran in the park on my lunch break but felt like I was going against my family just doing that!

I'm here to find some advice, and maybe a solution.

2019-03-03 8:10 PM
in reply to: Mgalex

User image

Master
Columbus, Ohio
Coaching member
Subject: RE: Out of shape cyclist and daddy.
Wow, this is not an easy answer.

You definitely need your wife on your side, or it's going to be miserable for everyone.