General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help with seating on the bike! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2021-11-11 9:01 AM

Subject: Help with seating on the bike!
I have been ramping up my cycling training and noticed how uncomfortable my bike seat is. I feel like I can’t figure out how to properly sit on my bike. Are there tips/tricks for females experiencing pelvic discomfort and tingling down the legs while riding!

2021-11-11 10:57 AM
in reply to: MVGWRI

User image

Cypress, Texas
Subject: RE: Help with seating on the bike!

When I started training for my first triathlon, from a non-cycling background all my rides were outdoors and the saddle was comfortable enough for me.  Then when I got a bike trainer and started to do indoor rides the same saddle for the same duration rides became very uncomfortable late in the ride.  My coach said that I probably changed positions more often outdoors to take corners, got around obstacles in the road, to climb hills, etc.  but that as I spent more time on the indoor trainer that I would be able to go longer and longer without discomfort.  That was true.  Over time I got to where I could go longer and longer in the saddle.  I got a new bike later on and the bike fit and the style of the saddle made things uncomfortable again.  I got the fit the best I could but still struggled so I changed saddles to a style like my previous bike and the improvement was instant.  After struggle for week on a saddle that was not the right shape for me, for the first pedal stroke with the new saddle things were much more comfortable. 

So, 1) try to change your position more on the bike by standing up in the saddle periodically, etc.

2) try to go longer and longer in the saddle with each ride.  With training, you will be able to go longer without discomfort. 

3) make sure the seat height and position are fit to you