General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hi there!!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2022-08-19 11:29 PM

Subject: Hi there!!!
Hello everyone. I’m a tri newbie from Gold Coast Australia. I had an accident about 4 years ago and after 10 surgeries and advice to amputate my leg, I’ve managed to fight through and keep my leg. My goal now is to make the most of life and do an Ironman in 2024. I plan on doing a few smaller races and also a half Ironman in the next 18 months before my goal race which is in June 2024.

I’m a complete newbie. I have a road bike, goggles and some shoes but that’s it.

I’m looking for info on what to wear whilst training, I don’t want to ruin a tri suit just for training.

Any other tips on what I might need for my first 8-12 weeks training would be amazing.

2022-08-20 9:23 AM
in reply to: HeyThatsMyBike!

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Hi there!!!

Welcome to the sport. 

Finishing an Ironman is all about training, and you'll do a lot of it, so you'll eventually need a fair amount of clothes just to train unless you enjoy doing a small load of laundry every day.  My advice is pick up a piece of gear every couple of weeks rather than buy a lot all at once.  As you train, you'll likely change sizes and you'll learn what you like and don't like. 

Swimming:  You'll probably want at least 2 swimsuits and you may experiment with different styles of goggles.  Even with 1 style, you may want clear or lightly tinted goggles for indoor or low-light swimming and heavily tinted goggles for swims in bright sunlight.  Lycra suits are common and may last 3-12 months.  Polyester is more durable, often going 12+ months.  I did have the butt seam on an old polyester suit fail during a swim...I probably flashed bystanders on every flip turn...