General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Am I crazy to try a half-mary? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-12-19 2:29 PM

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member
Subject: Am I crazy to try a half-mary?
I have been running for about six months now and have enjoyed myself, injury free. I've not currently ran more than 4 miles at a time, but feel good when I do those four miles.

I want to participate in the 3M Half-marathon on January 28th, a mere six weeks away. I found a 9-week training program on the web. Can I slim down the 9-week program into 6 weeks (mostly by erasing 3 duplicate weeks) and give the half-marathon a try? I am completely okay with walking when I need to. Also, the race is described as "downhill". The time limit is 4 hours. I am a fast walker by nature and naturally walk fast, although I am sure that over the course I will get tired.

I think I can do this with a mix of running and walking. I guess my questions for you all really is am I setting myself up for failure and injury? Would you try it, if you were in my situation?

My goal is to finish. So, the theory of "Hey, just try it and quit after 9 miles" isn't the scenario I am looking for.

Thoughts? Thanks!

2006-12-19 2:41 PM
in reply to: #628246

User image

Runner
Subject: RE: Am I crazy to try a half-mary?
Yes you are crazy. No, if I were you, I wouldn't do it.
Longest run of 4 miles, you need to more than triple that in the next six weeks. Is it possible? Yes. Is it possible to do without injury or long-term problems? Yes. Is it worth the gamble? NO!

There are other races. If you're gonna pay to go run, you want to make sure you get something out of it.
2006-12-19 2:46 PM

User image

Expert
Kansas City, MO
While I wouldn't recommend it, it COULD be done. I would keep your weekly run distances the same and concentrate on getting your "long" runs up to 10 miles. Here's what I do for the long runs:

this week (week 1): long run of 6 miles
week 2: long run of 6 miles