General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Baby & First Tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-03-12 9:25 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Baby & First Tri
Hello-
I'm a newbie. Mom of an 18 month old. Going to participate in my first sprint tri in May. I do not have the luxury of a lot of time training outdoors..but do train very hard at the gym. I'm running a 10 minute mile, biking 12 miles 35-40 minutes, and swimming a 500 in 8m30sec. Can I really count on my abilities in the gym to translate to the outdoors?? (I sometimes run outside..but it is SO different with the jogging stroller).
Thanks.

2007-03-12 9:31 PM
in reply to: #720748

User image

Pro
Woodstock,GA
Subject: RE: Baby & First Tri

First of all welcome to BT and to the sport of triathlon! To answer your question.....maybe, probably, would be best if you could get outside. My wife and I have a 3 1/2 yr old and a 7 month old and she is trying to get back in shape and do a couple of races this year as well. She is in much the same position as you are (for example the nice shiney new bike I bought for her a month ago has yet to see the outside), what we try to do (and it isn't always successful) is schedule times where she can get her workouts in around my workout schedule (sounds very selfish I know but this is my job!).

My advice is try to get your Significant Other to watch the little tyke for a few hours a week while you go train. Another option is ask a relative or neighbor if they would mind watching him/her while you go get in some training. It takes alot of scheduling but it can be done.

Good Luck!

2007-03-12 9:39 PM

User image

New user

Thanks for the reply. I am working toward the "My First Tri" at Lake Lanier. I see that you are nearby.