United States
45F / 7C
Sunny
Total Time = 00m
Overall Rank = /
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Ate a fried egg white sandwhich on toast 3 hours before the race. Had 2 cups of coffee 2 hours before the race.
Event warmup:

I was able to streth 30 minutes before the start. Race was not that big so I was able to warm up 10 minutes before the race and I was ready to go when the gun went off.
Run
  • 46m 10s
  • 10 kms
  • 04m 37s  min/km
Comments:

First, a little background....

It has been a while since I have run a timed run. The last 10k I ran was during the first week of December. I had been trying to break 50 min.

Since I started training for my Half Ironman, I had been focusing much more on swimming and biking. I had been working very hard but not at running.

I am starting to ramp up for the Mad City Marathon in 8 weeks and I wanted to see what I could do. My plan was to hang back a little for the first 2-3 miles and then turn it on. I have a hell of a time running negative splits as I always go out fast.

Mile 1 - I try to keep my HR right around 140 (which is pretty much about 75%). It seems like I am taking it easy, HR is pretty low. I get to the first mile marker and it was 7:40. That seemed a LOT faster than I wanted to go as my main goal is breaking through 50 min.

Time - 7:40
Avg. HR - 140 Max - 157

Mile 2 - I slow down. I wanted to run the first mile around 8:30 and I am determined to keep my HR low. As it happens, most of this mile is uphill. My HR is a little higher but I don't feel like I am going TOO hard. I feel pretty good even though my HR is a little elevated. When they call the time, it wasn't as slow as I wanted to go but it wasn't as fast as I feared it may have been.

Time - 8:07
Avg HR - 153 Max - 159