General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New to this and looking for people in New York City Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-05-04 9:08 PM

Brooklyn, New York
Subject: New to this and looking for people in New York City
Hi -

I am new to this and am doing my first sprint in June. I am looking for a mentor, I am very nervous. I am training on my own and am not sure if I am pushing myself enough.

2007-05-04 9:49 PM
in reply to: #789569

User image

Extreme Veteran
Bethpage, New York
Subject: RE: New to this and looking for people in New York City
Welcome aboard!! I wouldn't consider myself a mentor, but there are a ton of experienced and knowledgable people on this site. Feel free to ask anyone just about anything, use your training logs to keep track of your workouts, that's going to help people give you advice.
Getting a training plan is a good idea (there are great ones available through BT), it will give you a frame of what you need to be doing. Some people swear by heartrate training as well, and others don't, that's gonna be up to you.
I'm new to tri's but have been running forever and swam for a bit a few years back. I live on Long Island, so getting together for some training isnt' impossible. What races are you training for?
Good luck, stay healthy!!!
2007-05-05 9:33 AM

User image

Expert
Carmel
Where in NYC?? I spend a lot of time in Central Park, training and working.
2007-05-05 3:48 PM
in reply to: #789597

Brooklyn, New York
I am doing a sprint in Philly end of June. baby steps first.
2007-05-06 8:38 PM
in reply to: #789597

Brooklyn, New York
hi,

I am training for a sprint in Philly in June. I am just nervous that I am not doing enough.

Andrea
2007-05-07 10:31 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Long Beach, CA