General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Mercier or Motobecane bikes, any good??? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-04-12 3:01 PM

User image

Pro
Los Angeles, CA
Subject: Mercier or Motobecane bikes, any good???
I am very new to rode bikes (ridden a mtb all my life) and was wondering if anyone had heard of a brand called Mercier or Motobecane. I've only seen brands like TREK, Cannondale, Felt, etc but never seen a Mercier mentioned in these threads, unless I just missed it.

I am looking at their cheaper models, but just in general, any information is appreciated.

http://www.cyclesmercier.com/

http://www.motobecane.com/

Edited by auto208562 2005-04-12 3:03 PM

2005-04-12 4:34 PM
in reply to: #141730

User image

Champion
Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Mercier or Motobecane bikes, any good???
Both of these bike companies have been around for many years.  They have some good bikes and they also have cheap bikes.  It all depends on what models you are looking at and what components they have.
2005-04-12 4:49 PM

Veteran
Swindon
www.bikesdirect.com  has the motobecane nemesis tri bike for about $800 at the moment no idea why. apparently they're reliable as well (haven't used them myself)
2005-04-13 2:48 AM

User image

Expert
The Mercier and Motobecane brands are no longer what they used to be. I'm no expert but since I was shopping for a bike not that long ago I remember reading something about how they were world class European manufacturers back in the '70s but went out of business, then some Taiwanese company picked up the name and is using it again. The only place I saw these brands was through BikesDirect.com and their retail store (I forget the name) in the Midwest.