General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When do I stop losing weight? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-05-20 9:19 AM

User image

Regular
Utah
Subject: When do I stop losing weight?
I know this is an irritating question, but it's a legitimate one for me. I hope people don't take offense.

I started training about a year ago at 6' 1" and 212 lbs. I weighed this morning at 178. My weight loss has been clock work. I lose about 4 lbs a month. I graduated from highschool at 165. I'm 33 now. I thought I'd get down to 185 and hold there, but I keep losing weight. I'd taken that to be a good thing, but I'm not slowing down. How much should I lose before I've got to start eating more? I haven't done a body fat test, but I'm prettty lean. Should I go off body fat or hold at a certain weight. This is a dilema I never thought I'd have, but my wife says she's worried about my weight. At this rate I'd be 141 lbs next year. Ideas?

Edited by browntown 2008-05-20 9:20 AM

2008-05-20 10:49 AM
in reply to: #1413226

User image

Veteran
Golden, CO
Subject: RE: When do I stop losing weight?

I went through the same thing last year.

I am 6'4" and went from 225 down to my current weight of 175.  I had spent the better part of 20 years at over 200 lbs and never though that I would get back down below that level.  When I first broke through the 200 lb level, I begin to wonder whether or when I should stop.  Basically, what I did was to look in the mirror.  At the time, I still had some obvious excess fat around my mid-section, so I set a new goal to lose 5 more lbs.  When I reached that goal, I did the same thing again.  When I reached 180 lbs., the excess fat was pretty much gone, and I stopped trying to lose weight.  I have continued to lose weight, but at a much slower rate.