General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Break or Drive on? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-26 4:00 PM

User image

Lost Wages Nevada
Subject: Break or Drive on?

First off a little history to help with the question.

I am new to the sport of triathlons coming from a very sedentary background of Olympic Couch Sitting (ranked 3rd in my AG). While I spent some of my youth as an athlete it has been awhile. I made a commitment to my wife at the beginning of this year that I would get in shape (apparently round doesn’t count) and I have done a great job of dropping over 60lbs to date (Now at a very healthy, might I even say sexy weight). I have been training for the last 4 months for an OLY and feel great! My training includes 3x each sport per week and peaks at about 12 1/2hrs. I have done one sprint and have one more to do before the OLY, which will occur in about 4 weeks.

I have truly fallen in love (lust is probably a more accurate word) with the sport and in my new found love I have taken the exciting plunge of signing up for an IM. Before you write and tell me to “wait awhile”, or “what’s the hurry” know that I’m not seeking that advice, but instead this….

My IM is 31 weeks after my OLY and my game plan is to take a week off and then follow Fink’s book IronFit, where he lays out a very doable 30 week plan. The concern is that the plan starts from ground zero with very little hrs in the first couple of weeks and builds from there. Since I have been at this for only 5 months (at time of starting 30 week program) should I find a plan that continues to build from where I already am, or is it more beneficial to stop and re-start?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice….

2009-08-26 4:08 PM
in reply to: #2372549

User image

Champion
Evergreen, Colorado
Subject: RE: Break or Drive on?
In order to avoid burnout, I would go ahead and just follow the plan.