Ah! The joy of the Infield Fly Rule!
-
No new posts
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller | Reply |
![]() |
Veteran ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() For those who tuned in to the Cardinals v Braves Wildcard Playoff game this evening, were treated to the confusion that is the Infield Fly Rule. The problem with the call in this particular instance was that the ruling Umpire did not call the IFR until the ball was nearly to the ground. Because the rule is at the discretion of the Umpire it is not reviewable. Thus, the Braves protest was denied. Still, from the observers point of view, the infielder was called off by the outfielder but neither caught the ball to record the out. Some how the Umpire ruled the batter out. Unfortunately, the controversial call transformed Turner Field in to a dumpster with fans hurling garbage on to the field. Reminded me of a NASCAR race I saw where Dale Jr fans hurled Bud beer cans on to the track after Gordon won. Here is the rule for your reading pleasure: An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule. |
|
![]() ![]() |
Iron Donkey![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() Hmmmm, it sounds like the decision of the umpire would need to be reviewed, as per what your information states: "The problem with the call in this particular instance was that the ruling Umpire did not call the IFR until the ball was nearly to the ground." and what the ruling states: "...The umpire?s judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately." |
![]() ![]() |
Master ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() Still absolutely livid about what happened. Yep, he didn't call it until very late. But seriously, THAT far out in the outfield and you call infield fly ? |
![]() ![]() |
Veteran ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() 1stTimeTri - 2012-10-06 11:12 AM Hmmmm, it sounds like the decision of the umpire would need to be reviewed, as per what your information states: "The problem with the call in this particular instance was that the ruling Umpire did not call the IFR until the ball was nearly to the ground." and what the ruling states: "...The umpire?s judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately." Right! You would think. However, baseball is one of the last bastions of Referee authority. Even the players, coaches and owners respect this. A good thing imo. |
![]() ![]() |
Elite ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() The outfield umpire should NOT be allowed to call the infield fly rule. Interesting thought from ESPN this morning - These guys are not normally in that position (normally just a 4-man crew vs. 6 for post-season gmes), so they are not used to seeing the field from there and lose the perspective |
![]() ![]() |
Champion ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() I didn't understand the call at all. It underscores for me why this wld-card "play-in game" is a dumb idea. After a 162-game season, a trip to the playoffs should only come down to a single game if two teams are tied at the end of the regular season. Atlanta finished 6 games ahead of StL on the basis of their w-l record. There's no reason why Atl should have had to play for a spot in the playoffs against the Cards. I don't think it's fair to say that this call alone cost Atlanta the game, but they never should have been in the position in the first place. |
|
![]() ![]() |
Veteran ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() The play did not determine to outcome of the game. The Braves took care of that with their shoddy defense. I actually don't have an issue with the call itself or the timing. Once the SS raised his hands to make the catch it looked like a routine catch in short left field and the umpire raised his hands and made the call. It is very much a judgement call. Maybe a little deep in the outfield, but then again the umpire made a judgement and went with it. |
![]() ![]() |
Master ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() jacasa - 2012-10-07 9:26 AM The play did not determine to outcome of the game. The Braves took care of that with their shoddy defense. I actually don't have an issue with the call itself or the timing. Once the SS raised his hands to make the catch it looked like a routine catch in short left field and the umpire raised his hands and made the call. It is very much a judgement call. Maybe a little deep in the outfield, but then again the umpire made a judgement and went with it. Let's be clear on something. Had the bases been loaded with 1 out and McCann up, you dont know what would have happened. So the game COULD have ended differently. End of story. As for what actually happened, yes the Braves blew it, plain and simple. |
![]() ![]() |
Master ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ![]() jacasa - 2012-10-07 7:26 AM The play did not determine to outcome of the game. The Braves took care of that with their shoddy defense. I actually don't have an issue with the call itself or the timing. Once the SS raised his hands to make the catch it looked like a routine catch in short left field and the umpire raised his hands and made the call. It is very much a judgement call. Maybe a little deep in the outfield, but then again the umpire made a judgement and went with it. Except the player is supposed to be camped under the ball prior to the call being made. He was still backing up when the arm went up, and at the same moment Kozma gave up on the ball. It was a crappy set of circumstances. And I hate the Braves |