Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2008-04-26 9:31 PM

User image

Pro
Without house
Subject: maggyruth's group-FULL UP!
NAME: maggyruth/Peggy

STORY: I'm a slug turned triathlete. I was the fat girl who avoided gym class at all cost. At my highest, I weighed over 300 lbs (328 was my highest documented weight). I started Weight Watchers when I was 24. Then again at 25 and 26. Three years later (Yes, that makes me 29...according to USAT I'm 30) I've lost 90 lbs. 2 years ago, a friend did a triathlon, and that sparked in me a well filed memory...I remember watching IM Kona on TV thinking those people were crazy, but man, did that look cool. So, I did some searching, found BT, and the rest is history. I have one season of tris under my belt and am looking forward to many more...

FAMILY STATUS: single as they come...2 fur babies and a bike baby

CURRENT TRAINING: I'm still doing a lot of base building...I started training from triathlons basically at zero. Right now, I use one of the training plans from BT. Sometimes it's a struggle to get all the workouts in for me (long hours at work, long commute) but I'm getting there. I'm not fast, but I'm persistent and getting faster.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: Last year was my first tri season. I did 3 sprint tris and a number of 5ks.

2008 RACES: Here's what I'm shooting for this year:
June 1 Lakes Mills Sprint
June 22 High Cliff Sprint
June 28 Elkhart Lake Oly (my first!)
July 19 Spirit of Racine sprint
August 17 Pleasant Prairie Tri Oly

I'm also planning on doing more 5ks, some 10ks, and, sometime within my 30th year (which technically doesn't start until October, no matter what USAT says), I'm going to do a 1/2 mary

WEIGHTLOSS: I've lost 90 lbs in the last 3+ years...about 20 of those after I started tris. I have somewhere between 40 and 50 lbs to lose, but will ALWAYS be Athena (I'm 6'1" and would look sick under 150)