General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » some random product/getting started questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-03-27 2:20 PM

Subject: some random product/getting started questions
Hi guys

I'm a medical student and I'm training to do my first tri - I'm doing it through Team in Training, so I'm getting a lot of coaching support, which is great. But I haven't been able to gather many knowledgeable opinions about what I REALLY should be buying. Since I am a student, I am POOR and can't spend much money. I'm riding a borrowed bike (don't worry we made sure it fits), since my bike is really heavy and I can't afford a new one. I've put up the bucks for some good running shoes and bought bike shoes to clip in with. The wet suit is being provided, and I have bike shorts. There is so much stuff out there that I COULD be buying; what of it do I really need? Tri shorts? Special socks? Compression shorts? Fancy sunglasses? What am I likely to be comfortable in under the wetsuit?

Thanks - any opinions would be helpful since I'm kind of like a deer in the headlights right now.

-R

2004-03-27 3:35 PM
in reply to: #14793

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2004-03-27 3:42 PM

Expert
Lafayette, CO
Subject: RE: some random product/getting started questions
Hi! Well, this is the place for answers. I'm also doing my first tri this year, and I'm in the same boat (although I did just find out I'm owed $1300 - woo hoo! New bike!)

From what I've learned so far, a tri-suit is not essential, although you'll want to be comfortable for your swim and bike portions. I'm going to go with my running shoes during the bike portion this time, as I've found that the tread on my running shoes grips the pedals pretty well.