United States
Lake Mills Triathlon
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 22m 32s
Overall Rank = 238/648
Age Group = Clyde
Age Group Rank = 9/31
Pre-race routine:

Got up at 4:00. Probably the best night's sleep I have had before a tri. Got to bed a little after 9:30 and fell asleep fairly quickly where normally I wakeup a few times I really slept pretty solid until 3:50 - perfect. When I got up though I certainly wasn't fired up by any stretch. Tired, lathargic, etc.. My son had a baseball tourny this weekend and I am an assistant coach so spent a lot of time in the sun, standing etc. at the tournament. Daughter also had a swim meet and sitting in the aquatic center for hours was like sitting in a steam bath! Anyway, ate two pieces of peanut butter toast, a bannana and a cliff bar along with plenty of water and a bottle of gatorade on the way there along with a tall coffee.
Event warmup:

Got to the race, check-in went fast, nice amounts of room in transition. Chatted with Maggyruth and saw several other donks. Eventually got down to the water and swam some. Last year I got very comfortable with OWS but I think due to water temp my warmup wasn't so good. Breathing at first was difficult but kept at it which made it better. Wave 9 for me so lots of standing around then. Took a gel about 15 mins b4 I was to start.
Swim
  • 07m 7s
  • 440 yards
  • 01m 37s / 100 yards
Comments: