General Discussion Triathlon Talk » how bad is it to not eat before a bike ride Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-08-14 10:26 AM

Huntsville, Tx
Subject: how bad is it to not eat before a bike ride
i am only talking about a 8-10 mile ride but, i get up in the morning and im not hungry at all. how bad does it effect my performance and how bad is it on my body. i stay hydrated during and after the ride. after a challenging 8 miles this morning (lots of hills) i felt kinda dizzy after the ride. take into consideration i am a newb and am just getting started. my new bike only has about 50 miles on it. oh i am riding a road bike if that helps.

Edited by stdjsw311 2008-08-14 10:28 AM

2008-08-14 12:26 PM
in reply to: #1603196

User image

Tallahassee and St. Augustine
Subject: RE: how bad is it to not eat before a bike ride

Personally I wouldn't eat before a ride that small.... but when it comes down to it, it will depend on your body and its needs. For longer rides I usually eat something very lite.

Another option would be to take a little something on the ride with you, maybe some kind of sports bar. 

2008-08-14 12:41 PM

User image

Lafayette, CO
I normally would say no big deal not to eat before that short of a ride BUT if you're feeling dizzy you might play with something small.  A banana? A cup of yogurt? A glass of milk?  A piece of toast?  All might help you.  I know that sometimes I have a hard time eating and it get exacerbated in the winter when I'm heading up to ski.  No way I feel like eating at 5am but I have to force myself to do it. 
2008-08-14 1:20 PM
in reply to: #1603722

User image

Sensei
Sin City

Bad for you?  Probably not.  Worse thing that could happen is feeling slugish or have a poor performance (for a standard person).  If you have some blood sugar issues, it could be a different story.  It's probably up to the individual.