BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Turtlegirl's group -for the slow and steady!--FULL! :) Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2008-12-17 11:48 AM

User image

Elite
Subject: Turtlegirl's group -for the slow and steady!--FULL! :)

NAME: Turtlegirl, name is Amy
STORY: Started in tri in 1999, after injuries from running forced me into biking, and biking injuries forced me to swimming. First one was on a mountain bike, finishing 485/500. Did one the next year, and then finally progressed to doing Olys in 2001, first HIM in 2006, and first IM in 2007.  I love biking and running and swimming, riding horses, and I teach for a living.

FAMILY STATUS: single but mom to a horse
CURRENT TRAINING: How you train in general (what race distance in 2008, technical or not)
THIS YEAR'S RACES: Mainly Oly's this year, NYC, Columbia, Alcatraz, St. Anthonys. A couple of sprints and half marathons as well. This was a fun travel year.
2009 RACES:  St. Anthonys to support a friend, Eagleman 70.3, Timberman 70.3, Longhorn 70.3
WEIGHTLOSS: I had an eating disorder back in college, and triathlons really helped bring me back as a complete person. I still have weight struggles (mainly b/c I eat too much!), but I'm trying.
WHAT WILL MAKE ME A GOOD MENTOR: I am a teacher by training, and a coach by nature.  I grew up teaching riding lessons as a teenager and now teach PE, and work with a bunch of students on running. Right now I'm coaching a friend who is going from no activity to doing an Oly as her first race, and I love it.  I enjoy very much helping people start in the sport, since its brought me so much joy.  I'm not fast at all, but I know my stuff, especially when it comes to injuries, and I have a lot to offer on those topics!

Mostly, I love the sport. I love bringing people to it.  And I'd love to bring more people to the "dark side".

Edited by turtlegirl 2008-12-24 4:12 PM

2008-12-21 6:32 AM
in reply to: #1858909