BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Bill's House of Pain-No Vacancy Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 26

2009-04-12 11:47 AM

User image

Elite
Texas
Subject: Bill's House of Pain-No Vacancy

NAME: Bill/Bill
STORY: I started training for my first triathlon almost 5 years ago. I allowed myself to get out of shape and I couldn't stand the way I looked or the way I felt. Since then I've lost around 40 pounds. I have to be careful about my run training. I've had seven knee surgeries so every year I get to continue to race has a bow on it!  
FAMILY STATUS: Married with kids.
CURRENT TRAINING: I build my training plans using the template in the Triathlete's Training Bible. I enjoy the planning almost as much as I enjoy training.
THIS YEAR'S RACES: With two new kids and some injuries to heal, I took the 2008 season off. In 2007 I had a 35 minute PR at the Buffalo Springs Lake IM 70.3 and I placed 20th overall the the US Open Sprint Triathlon in Dallas.
2009 RACES:  My goal this year is to rebuild my base, race short course so I can ease back into running, and to place top 10 overall and top 5 in AG at the US Open. A major goal for me is to manage my training to avoid injury.
WEIGHTLOSS: I'm currently trying to sort out how to get the the lightest weight for my frame. I'm currently 190 lbs at 11-12% body fat. I'd like to get to 180. The body fat % is an afterthought for me, but 8% is probably where I need to be to get to that weight. I'm not a small guy, and I love to strength train... I try to compromise by lifting for strength and muscular endurance.