McGhie's Ski Bike Board
80F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 43m 55s
Overall Rank = 224?/244?
Age Group = Cat 5
Age Group Rank = 119/133
Pre-race routine:

I am new to bike racing, so I just ate my normal triathlon breakfast and headed out to the course. I have to admit, I liked the 8:00 am start! Plus not having to set up for transition was nice.

I also switched out my 11-25 to my 12-27 to help with the climb.
Event warmup:

I did a little light spinning on the bike before the race.
Bike
  • 2h 43m 55s
  • 17.2 miles
  • 6.30 mile/hr
Comments:

Again, since I was new to bike racing AND had a lot of unknowns about the course and my ability to do it, I decided that I wanted to ease out of the start and try to stick to high Z2 for the first hour and see how I felt after that and try to pick it up. However, the hills had other ideas. I pretty much got right into Z3 and stayed there. I was fine with that, as I have raced for over 2 hours at that intensity before, and been just fine.

As I suspected, everyone in my wave was off like a shot. It was hard on the ego to let them go since I felt like I could easily keep up, but I was not sure what the course was going to offer, so I stayed within myself. Sure enough, I started to pick off the other riders one by one as they gassed themselves out on the climb. I think I passed close to two dozen people...

My nutrition plan was to bring one bottle of water and take in GU on the climb. My plan was to reload on both water and gel at the two aid stations, but to my dismay, they didn't have gels. I could have sworn they said they would have them in the race literature. So I was a bit put off by not getting any calories during the ride. However, I don't think it hurt me too much.

I drafted on the bike when I could, and worked with someone for a while taking turns pulling. A whole new experience to racing.