BT Development Mentor Program Archives » Holt's Mentor Group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 15

2011-01-06 12:23 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Ellensburg, WA
Subject: Holt's Mentor Group - CLOSED

Hi My name is Scott and I have been on this site for a couple of years. This summer coming up will be my 4th year doing triathlons and I absolutely love it. During that time i have tried several different types of races and different distances. I ran my first marathon, several half marathons, a half iron and several sprint and olympic distance triathlons. I think the part I like most about this sport is that it can be as complex or as simple as you want it to be. You can hire a coach and go all out or you can just try to squeeze in workouts between family and work and do your best. I fall more into the latter category. I currently work as a corrections officer at the county jail.

I have a great wife and four kids. They are 3,5,8 and 10 years old. We live on about 50 acres and raise a lot of farm animals. With all of this I understand juggling workouts around a busy life and I hope some of that experience will help you out too. As far as the mentor group goes I try to format the group with one question per week. The question usually generates discussion that keeps going or brings up other questions.

I do have a couple of requests from you as the mentee. The first and most important is that you be active with the group. I don't have all the answers and we all have something to contribute so please speak up and get involved. The second thing is to be honest. We all have off days and weeks and it is easier to encourage each other if we are honest. Lastly I would like to share some of my personal goals so that you can see where I am at as a triathlete.