General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Alternative Training? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-12-07 10:52 AM

Subject: Alternative Training?
I am a 43 year old newbie, and have wanted to do a tri for a few years but never made the decision, but now I need a new challange and I have a feeling that I quickly become a tri fanatic after my first one, but I have to get that first one. I am in very good physical condition because I consistently workout 3-4-5 times per week. Most of my cardio is on the elyptical machine and the one reason for that is that I get back pain in my lower back everytime I run (left side- about an inch below my belt line and about three inches from the center of my back. Since I made the decision of doing a tri this upcoming season I have begun working my lower back more than I have in the past hoping this will help the back problem. I never get this pain unless I run and it is frustrating which is why I am being so descriptive as to exactly where it is hoping for a resolution. I have a few questions; what can this back pain be and has anyone ever experienced this and resolved this the problem? Any recommendations on a good running shoe, because some of my friends have said that could be a big part of the problem, although I have had this problem for a while and have had different running shoes over the years.