General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri bike vs road w/ aero bars Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-19 10:29 PM

Subject: Tri bike vs road w/ aero bars

I do most of my riding with groups but am planning my first century and first sprint Tri this year (likely multiple of both).  Once I get the swimming thing better figured out, I'll train for an olympic or half (def by next year)  

I'm planning to get a new bike this year and trying to decide between a Tri bike or an "aero" road bike frame with clipped on Aero bars. (Specialized Venge or Blue AC1 or _____).  Sure the road bike wouldn't fit as well in an aero position but how much will that hurt my times?  I'm not a pro and not pretending to be but having the right "tools" can make all the difference.  I'm worried that a roadie with aero bars would be like running a marathon in loafers and white socks.  Sure you've got shoes on but something about it just isn't quite right....

So what are the pros and cons of Tri bike vs road with clip on aero bars for a beginner?  How much slower or faster would I really be?  How much more comfortable could it really be?

2012-01-19 10:58 PM
in reply to: #4000772

User image

Tucson
Subject: RE: Tri bike vs road w/ aero bars

I'm in the same boat!

I've been looking at the Cervelo deal, but cant afford or think I need 2 new bikes. The RS looks like a pretty good deal and seems like it would be more comfortable for training rides. I'm going to guess my first few Tri's will be handicapped more by my fitness and techniques than disadvantage of the road bike over the Tri bike.

2012-01-19 11:57 PM

User image

Master
Rural Ontario

There is absolutely nothing unusual with riding a triathlon on a road bike. A road bike will not be as fast as a Tri bike in a flat or modestly-hilly, non-drafting triathlon. I would guesstimate about 1-5min difference for a 40km ride.