United States
65F / 18C
Sunny
Total Time = 18m 32s
Overall Rank = 4/350
Age Group = M40-49
Age Group Rank = 1/50
Pre-race routine:

This is the local 5k race in our neighborhood, organized as a fund-raiser and fitness-raiser for my daughter's elementary school. I have been doing it almost every year since it started in 2002. For the first few years I would get slower every year as I aged and got fatter. After leaving the couch a couple of years ago I've been going in the other direction, getting faster every year. I had wanted to make this one a priority race, due to its sentimental value, but being almost entirely grounded from run-training for the past 6 weeks undid that plan. So my main goal was to finish respectably and hopefully to beat my time/place from last year. Zoe (age 10) was also doing the 5k, hoping to beat her time from last year. A bunch of friends from our Ragnar Relay team turned out to race too, adding to the fun.
Event warmup:

Jog around and run some strides. The ongoing achilles tendon problem continues to bother me, but it did seem a little better than it has of late.
Run
  • 18m 32s
  • 3.11 miles
  • 05m 58s  min/mile
Comments:

I settled into a comfortable pace on the gradual downhill at the start. My main worry was that I not go out too hard and kill myself on the many hills in the first half of the race. Within the first kilometer the field had sorted itself out fairly well, and I was running in 4th place. 1st place was blazing ahead, and 2nd-3rd were a few seconds ahead of me. I didn't see anybody in close attendance behind me for the rest of the race. The uphills were predictably tough, but I was pleased with how the legs recovered on the in-between parts. I figured that if I could get to half way without killing myself then I'd be ok, as the last mile is a very gradual downhill.