General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Drafting / Not drafting Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-16 8:15 AM

User image

Subject: Drafting / Not drafting

Hi, I'm a newbie here... I have heard that drafting is illegal in the biking portion of the tri. Is there a risk that you appear to be drafting when you aren't? Has this ever happened to anyone?

What is a "respectable" distance to maintain from the biker in front of you to avoid the appearance of drafting?

War stories and advice are welcome.... Thanks!

2013-05-16 8:21 AM
in reply to: #4744934

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
Subject: RE: Drafting / Not drafting
pmcroome - 2013-05-16 9:15 AM

Hi, I'm a newbie here... I have heard that drafting is illegal in the biking portion of the tri. Is there a risk that you appear to be drafting when you aren't? Has this ever happened to anyone?

It's not always 100% possible in larger races. If you stick around the forums long enough you'll hear people complaining about "pelotons" forming in big races. Sometimes this is done on purpose to cheat, but many times it's just a side effect of having so many competitors on course at one time.

however, if it looks like you are drafting to a ref... then I'm sorry to tell you, you ARE drafting.

What is a "respectable" distance to maintain from the biker in front of you to avoid the appearance of drafting?

The legal distance...

War stories and advice are welcome.... Thanks!

Understand that you have to complete your pass. Also understand that even though it's in the rules that the person you pass is supposed to drop out of your draft zone, it's highly unlikely very many people will.

2013-05-16 8:38 AM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

You can go to the USAT website and download the rules.  They're pretty specific as to what constitutes drafting.

Mark

2013-05-16 10:41 AM

User image

Expert
Ontario Canada