General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need advice about blisters Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-05 10:24 PM

Subject: Need advice about blisters
I didn't prepare properly today and learned my lesson big time!! I got blisters-a big one on my right heel and a small one on my left. I have a tri in 5 days. Any advice anyone can give me on how to treat them would be GREATLY appreciated
Ginny

2004-07-05 11:02 PM
in reply to: #35453

User image

Expert
Durham, CA
Subject: RE: Need advice about blisters
I'm not a "blister expert" - but I have been running for a couple of years, up to 13 miles at a time. The only time I had a problem with blisters was when I used a cheap pair of "swoosh" cotton socks - thinking that with that insignia, they must be good. They were not, and I paid for it.

Now, I only run with "ultimax" IRON-MAN Triathlon socks - buy them at your premium sporting goods store. With good socks, and a good, well broken in and fitted shoes, you should not have a problem (assuming that you did not increase your mileage too fast).

Don't know if you can rehab in 5 days. My two cents worth would be to look for a new race if you are not in back up to 100% (rather that risk really creating problems, such as open wounds and infection).

Good luck,

Dennis
2004-07-05 11:46 PM

User image

Expert
Lafayette, CO
At this point, I'd back off the running until race day. Depending on the blisters themselves, they might heal on their own. (Me? I tend to pop 'em, but that's just me.)

Get some moleskin. Put some over each blister. Even if you don't have blisters on race day, I'd put some on each spot where the blisters were, just to prevent them coming back during the race. The moleskin will stay on during your swim, although by the time you're done running, they may be about ready to come off. You should be fine, as long as you're not doing a 1/2 or full Ironman.
2004-07-06 9:08 AM

User image

Regular