Australian Triathlon Forum Victoria » Absolute Beginner Rss Feed  
Moderators: kaqphin, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-24 5:20 PM

Subject: Absolute Beginner
Hello everyone ... looking forward to reading your stories and interacting with you.

Brief :

A 47 year old male, 6ft 1in, ex-rugby player body ... damaged knees, weight over 100 kilos at this moment ... moved to Oz / Aus 2011 and likes the look of this crazy sport of Triathlons and IM's and wants to do that into his disgraceful old age ...

Just joined Nunawading Tri club ... haven't yet paid my sub or met anyone yet but will after next pay day next week ...

As I am new to Oz I don't have a bike so looking to get one ...

First question:

Shall I get a cheap second hand road bike first or just go for it and get a cheap second hand tri bike ?

Second:

Can I get a bike for under $1000 ? Preferably around $500 or $600 ??

That's it for now ... don't want to be greedy as I have only just joined this forum ...

Oh yes ... what bike frame size will I need ? 58cm to 60cm XL ???

Thanks.

Edited by LarsA 2013-07-24 5:21 PM

2013-08-04 7:43 PM
in reply to: LarsA

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: Absolute Beginner