General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Burning pain in deltoids while in aero position Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-08 6:49 PM

Subject: Burning pain in deltoids while in aero position
Long time lurker, first time poster.

I recently got my first tri bike - an Orbea Ordu. Was fit on a Retul first and that was the bike the shop said would fit me best (others they carried were Scott, Argon, Guru). Had it adjusted to mirror my Retul fit. I am completely new to the aero position, so maybe that is just it.

But the outside/back of my deltoids on both shoulders light up in burning pain if I'm in aero for more than a few minutes. I can start out with maybe 5 minutes, then it becomes unbearable, so I rest on the bullhorns, then go back in, repeat. I can maybe do a maximum of 15 minutes in aero total before my shoulders are in agonizing burning pain and I'm ready to be off the bike. Not the good pain like you had a nice workout, burning pain that hurts like hell.

I asked the shop where I got the bike and fitted and they said it would go away with more time, but a few weeks of riding and I haven't seen any improvement.

My question is it just a matter of time or could be something off with my fit or some other adjustment I can make?

Thanks for any replies and suggestions.

Edited by abbattoir 2013-10-08 6:49 PM

2013-10-08 7:13 PM
in reply to: abbattoir

User image

Sensei
Sin City
Subject: RE: Burning pain in deltoids while in aero position

I generally agree with the LBS.  Just takes time.  And MORE than a couple weeks.

Are you sure it hasn't gotten ANY better?  It's basically getting stronger/fitter for that position, like strength training.  Two weeks of bicep curls may not see much difference.  It takes time and repetition.  A month or two with consistent riding in earo.