General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for the perfect bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-03 2:22 PM

Subject: Looking for the perfect bike
I just started riding this last year and it has been something I have really enjoyed. I have also started training for my first tri next season. I am starting with sprints but plan on doing at least a half ironman. I am not looking to win but more so interested in finishing. Right now I have a 2004 Specialized Allez (58cm) with sora/tiagra components. I like the bike but I am having issues with shifting. (I know the most common answer is to do your first tri on whatever you can find) I looked into upgrading my group set but I can't justify putting $600 into a 10 year old bike; I feel like it would be a better investment to purchase a newer bike. I am a college student and not making a lot of money so I'm looking to get a bike that's a couple years old. I'd like to spend somewhere between $900-$1500 but willing to wait and save some more money if there is a bike that would better fit my needs.

So basically, I want a bike that is not solely a tri bike. I still want to do long and short group rides. I want a bike that I can put aero bars and still have good geometry. I've been reading about the Specialized Roubaix but it seems that aero bars on this bike stretch the rider out too far. I would buy an Allez again in a heartbeat but I want to make sure it is something that would be comfortable on the longer rides with aero bars. Also, what about the Tarmac? How similar are the geometries on the Allez compared to the Tarmac? I am 6'2" 205, will I have flexing problems with the carbon fiber frame?

I have only done research on the Specialized bikes but would consider other bikes too.

I know my questions are kind of all over the place but this is a huge purchase for me so I want to make sure I get the best package I can for the money.

-Eric

2013-11-03 2:32 PM
in reply to: ea1154

User image

Master