General Discussion Triathlon Talk » base training vs winter training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-07 6:09 PM

Subject: base training vs winter training
I'm looking into plans to keep me fit over the winter season. Whats the difference between base training and winter training. I know this maybe a total newby questions but all my tries so far ive just kinda been winging it, thinking of actually training properly this time

2013-11-07 6:25 PM
in reply to: nickih

User image

Subject: RE: base training vs winter training
These terms don't really mean anything on an absolute basis but are more meaningful in the context of your overall training. For most people "base training" means what you do before you start a specific race training season, but it can mean many different things-- some people will focus on a running base or swimming base while outdoor riding might be less convenient. Others will have more balanced training.

"Winter training" doesn't really mean anything other than what you do in the winter. For some people it will be some form of base training, while others will be doing more specific training or race training.

So what you do kinda depends on where you're at now and where you want to be when your race season training starts. Some people will tell you to focus on your weak sport; others will just say pick a plan that has you consistent in everything.
2013-11-07 8:08 PM
in reply to: jennifer_runs

okay great so I am planning on doing about 3 sprints next year and have done a sprint before. Results well I finished which is what i was trying to accomplish. I would like todo better ofcourse this year. I'm a good swimmer but could use extra endurance there( meaning FOP in tri a try swims but MOP in the sprint swim), good bicyclist (I can ride foerver but not super fast)and a terrible runner.