General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Spinning Vs Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-12 7:32 AM

Carrizal, Miranda
Subject: Spinning Vs Bike
Hi my friends, I need some help because I don`t know what is better the bike or a session of spinning?. Because my job I don`t have enought time to do a ride, due that I take a some sessions of spinning in the gym but I feel that is not enought. Do you know How many time I need to spent in these sessions?

See you.

Erick Hernández.

2014-04-17 8:11 PM
in reply to: Pitbullerick

User image

New user
Subject: RE: Spinning Vs Bike
Hi Erick,
I have been teaching spin for over 5 years. It is a good compliment to your training, but it doesn't truly replace good time in the saddle. Unfortunately, you can never quite get the same positioning as your bike on the spin bike. Also, you don't have to use your core muscles while on the spin bike because the bike balances itself. It is better than nothing and it can improve your fitness, but I wouldn't recommend it as a replacement for being out on the road. Hope this helps. RJK
2014-04-18 2:13 PM
in reply to: rkerperien

User image

Miami
I think it can replace some of your trainer time, but as rkerperien mentioned, there's nothing like being on the road. However, if that's all you can do, it is for sure better than nothing!
2014-04-19 1:16 PM

Agree about road time, vs indoor trainer/spinning bike time. But, there is a good series out there called Spinervals, that I purchased a few years back. I've loved it for the times when it's raining, etc. Coach Troy Jacobsen is an Ironman and triathlete coach, and his series shows people using trainers, and he is 'coaching' them through a series of tough routines. Check it out online, it's a great way to improve speed and stamina. Not many good follow along type of dvd's out there for cyclists.
2014-05-29 5:05 PM

User image

, Florida