General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Aquabike experience Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-26 9:03 PM

User image

Regular
Columbus
Subject: Aquabike experience
I'm planning out my race schedule, and one of my favorite races has moved locations and changed from a sprint and Olympic to an Olympic and a HIM.

I'm still considering doing it, but I've never done an Olympic before. Have done several sprints and have run standalone 10ks and half marathons. However, I'm a really terrible runner (10k in about 1:20, half marathon in 3 hours). I'm a good swimmer and an average biker.

So I'm considering the Aquabike option, partially as a way to ease into Olympic distance and partially because there are separate awards for Aquabike and I'm wondering if I worked hard enough on bike training if I could be up there.

Has anyone done an aquabike option before? Do you just swim and bike, and then stop (no finish line or anything)? It seems kind of anti-climatic when everyone else is heading out for a run. Would love to hear your experience and thoughts on it. Thanks!

2014-03-26 9:11 PM
in reply to: NDIrishO3

User image

Expert
Floriduh
Subject: RE: Aquabike experience
Do the full Oly, you will enjoy the challenge and kill it. I have never done an aquabike but I bet at the end of it I would regret not having done the run leg of the race. I assure you, I am no runner, my times look a lot like what you say yours are, but it is challenging myself that keeps me at this.
2014-03-26 9:48 PM

Master
Northern IL

I've aquabiked before and it was a lot of fun. I like doing various combinations, not just tri every time. The finish was just crossing into T2, and this does seem fairly typical. At the main one I did we were allowed to go to the run finish at our leisure and run through the finish line there for finish photos, finisher medal, and anything else they gave out over there. This could vary by race though.