General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Signed up for a 70.3, looking towards full. Seeking advice. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-12-02 11:43 AM

Subject: Signed up for a 70.3, looking towards full. Seeking advice.
Hi! I guess some background first. I'm 29 and male, and I've been cycling for about 5 years, racing for about 3. I'm 6' tall and weigh about 175. I've got two sprint tri's under my belt at about a 1:18, an Olympic at 2:44, two half marathons at 1:54 and 1:50 and a marathon finish in 4 flat. I'm not sure the times matter but I figure they might. I just signed up for HIM Muncie on July 9th and I'm pretty confident I can finish that strong. It's the only race I could find that worked for me in timing and geography. Earlier would have been nicer but

The part I'm less sure about is that I want to run a full IM next year as well. My goal has always been to do an IM in paradise so that I could be immobile on a beach. There's a race in Los Cabos that I think fits the bill but Oct 30 seems fairly short after July 9 to get that transition to happen. There's also one in Cozumel a month after, but I'm afraid of the last few long bikes and runs outside in November in Kentucky. It would be really heartbreaking to get sick less than a month out from the race.

The good news is that I feel like I'm in good shape, I just came off of off season strength training and I feel really good. I feel like I have plenty of time to plan and train, but I'm not feeling like I have all of the information I need. I was hoping that someone here with more experience than I have might be able to point out some things I need to think about with a plan like this, or maybe suggest something new. Any takers?

2015-12-02 1:05 PM
in reply to: crashtopher

Subject: RE: Signed up for a 70.3, looking towards full. Seeking advice.