General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim googles Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-08-01 1:04 PM

Subject: Swim googles
Hi All,

I'm new to triathlon and just completed my first sprint. Somehow, I have found myself registered for a HIM in August (Timberman). My training is going well except I don't seem to be able to swim a fairly straight line. Need to improve this as much as possible in the next 3 weeks (gulp). Part of the problem is my googles (brand unknown, from COSTCO). They leak and fog up terribly so I can't really see anything. I want to try the Roka R1 goggles but there are so many different tints to choose from and not having had much experience in the sport, it makes it difficult to figure out which one to choose. My HIM swim will take place about 6:40 a.m. during the 3rd week of August. There may be sun, but I'm guessing it won't be too intense at that time of day. I could select googles for: direct sun; transitional light; morning light; low light, fog and mist. It seems like "morning light" would be the logical choice, but I want the best bang for my buck. Is there a type that would work well for all lighting conditions? Or, should I buy more than one pair. Thanks. Liz

2016-08-01 1:12 PM
in reply to: liz3668_1

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
Subject: RE: Swim googles
Oddly enough.....I just got two pair of R1's from Tri Sports (Roka was sold out of the shades I wanted). Look for the light orange-ish color for morning (and overall) visibility. I've used mine 3-4X now, and they're great. I didn't want to jump on the bandwagon, but the Aqua Shperes I've been using just keep leaking earlier and earlier.

I think the color you want (and I have) is light vermillion, but it's the light orange looking option. If you're a USAT member, you can save 15% through TriSports. if you're not, Thomas Gerlach (he's a member here) can save you 20% through them if you'll send him a note and request a code.

Good luck in your HIM.