General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ideal Beginner Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-10-18 4:56 AM

Subject: Ideal Beginner Triathlon
I have been competing in triathlons now for just over a year. I am a beginner triathlete. I have limited bike handling skills and I have fallen off the bike at races. I am perplexed by the number of triathlons that advertise themselves as " ideal for beginners" when they most certainly are not. Case in point: just last Sunday I was at a race where the RD asked the competitors how many were doing their first triathlon and a large percentage said yes. He went on to expound on just how great the course was for first-timers. Not thirty minutes later some huge ocean swells developed and the RD asked that anyone with limited ocean swimming experience to withdraw from the swim. I have also ridden many bike courses again advertised as beginner-friendly which were mostly hilly and very technical. Maybe it is just me, but if a triathlon labels itself as beginner-friendly it should have a relatively easier swim and a bike course.

2016-10-18 7:18 AM
in reply to: onefinwonder

User image

Expert
Tyrone, Georgia
Subject: RE: Ideal Beginner Triathlon
I would think that any triathlon with an open water swim could present challenges beyond any RD's control as weather systems move in and out. As for biking most triathlons put out a bike course ahead of time that allows for review/preview to judge one's ability and training they have performed prior to making that decision.

As for your original question I have found most sprints/super sprints put on by local YMCA's to be beginner friendly, especially in the mid-atlantic region. I know you are in California but it would provide a place to look.
2016-10-18 7:18 AM

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC