General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Zone 2 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2017-07-03 3:54 AM

Subject: Zone 2
I am new to sport and am wondering what I do when I'm trying to keep in zone 2 (122-134) for me, when I run it goes above this level after about 300m am I meant to walk till it drops to 122 then run again???? PleAse help

2017-07-03 5:22 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Zone 2

First thins to look at is how did you establish those zones. You want to be sure they are accurate.

Guys like Maffetone who is world leader in this field, would tell you to walk to bring down your HR and keep it in the proper zone. With time, you should need to walk less and less to keep it there and you should be able to run a long time in Z2.

The big question is how did you establish those zones because if they are too low it will be very hard to keep your HR there.

If you are off the couch, brand new to running, it is a safe way to get started.

How old are you ? Do you have athletic background ? Are you currently over the weight you would like to be ? ....

Edited by marcag 2017-07-03 5:33 AM
2017-07-03 6:07 AM
in reply to: marcag

User image

Expert
Floriduh
Taking regularly spaced and timed walk breaks from running is a specific training method preached by Jeff Galloway amongst others. For me, it is the method that keeps me, on an average, in Z2 for long runs (> 5 miles).
2017-07-03 11:03 AM
in reply to: dtrainrocks

User image

Elite

You might check out the Maffetone method--basically 180-age is your target HR for majority of training.  You have to really check your ego because it will feel very slow and yes, if going uphill takes you out of that zone you walk until it recovers.  It is a process and takes time but it works.  I've been steadily getting faster while keeping my heart rate around 133.  

2017-07-03 1:27 PM