General Discussion Triathlon Talk » FTP Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-01-12 7:50 AM

Subject: FTP
I know, it’s a question where a finite answer is not possible. I have been racing triathlon for about 2 years, and completed 1 - IM, 2 - 70.3’s, and several sprints. However, my first year, consisted of 9 months training, followed by VERY limited training for 6 months, injury - 2 surgeries: IT Band lengthening, miniscus trim. So, I really didn’t start to come alive again until August of this year. I have been training pretty hard since then, from 20:30 5k, to 18:30 - 18:45ish, FTP up from 215ish to 235 currently. With all of that said, over the next 6 months what is the best way to increase my FTP? What sort of work/recover ratio for intervals, how many tempo, intervals, etc should I be doing every week (while not totally neglecting swim/run). Is it realistic for me to think I can hit 300 by August? Side note, I recover quick, sedentary for 20 year prior, smoke, drink, etc., 38 YO male.

2018-01-12 8:41 AM
in reply to: Tmontgomery

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: FTP
It's a combination of things to raise FTP. First, you need to build a solid base. FTP work without that is going to be ineffective.

Here's 4 things you can do:
1. 1-2 long rides each week (to make sure you build on your base conditioning)

2. 3x10min FTP intervals - Warm up 10 minutes; do 3x10min at 92-95% of FTP with 5 minutes recovery between sets. Cool down for 20-30 minutes

3. 3x15min FTP intervals. Same as above, but with 8 minutes recovery. This is highly recommended to do the day before a rest day.

4. 2x20min FTP intervals. Warm up 20-30 minutes; do 2 x 20min at 88-92% of FTP. Concentrate on maintaining a steady W the entire interval. 5 minutes recovery between and then 20-30 minutes cool down (steady state).