General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tough decision...need advice? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-07-26 7:27 PM

Subject: Tough decision...need advice?
This is my first time actually writing on this website, any for that matter, but didn’t know where else to ask so sorry if there is another post or this is wrong place. I have been training for IM Lou this coming Oct since January. The past two weeks I have started to get, what I think/diagnosed, peroneal tendonitis. My outside left ankle feels week and starts to feel uncomfortable when I run. Don’t fee it at all when I bike. It doesn’t hurt when I stand on it or move it around only when I push off on my stride. I have toughed it out for the end of June but can feel it getting worse. I have an ortho appointment this coming Monday but I already know what he is going to say, stay off of it. I have read that tendonitis can take a month or so to heal which would really suck. Here lies my dilemma. I purchased the Ironman insurance. Do I try and get a refund or stay off of it for a month and then hopefully it heals so I can at least run the race. I am a person that wants to be competitive in a race, goal was to break 10, so it would kill me to do it and be totally out of shape for the race.. any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

2018-07-27 7:48 AM
in reply to: Shox1174

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Tough decision...need advice?
Ok, I'm nowhere near as fast as your stated goal so take my advice with a grain of salt.

My philosophy when it comes to injury is to never rush the healing process. Don't sacrifice the short term for the long term. You have the insurance so that was a smart move. Races will always be there; heal up and get strong. Live to fight another day!