United States
USAT
Overcast
Total Time = 2h 00m 58s
Overall Rank = 172/255
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 31/42
Pre-race routine:

Bookes a hotel online to get nice and close to the race. Turned out hotel was 25 minutes away from race site. Got up had a breakfast cookie and hung out for awhile.
Event warmup:

Had Kelly with me to drop me off to get everything set up. Did some streching and talked to Jim (Birkierunner) and a few others I knew. Rode bike for awhile to see what was to come.
Run
  • 26m 14s
  • 3.11 miles
  • 08m 26s  min/mile
Comments:

See above
What would you do differently?:

Lose 40 pounds
Transition 1
  • 01m 32s
Comments:

I went back to the transition before the race 2 or 3 times. I have never done a duathlon before and couldn't believe how little needed to be changed without a swim involved.
Bike
  • 1h 03m 17s
  • 20.5 miles
  • 19.44 mile/hr
Comments:

Started feeling a little queasy. Wasn't sure if the Gatorade and gu was getting to me or not. Cut back on gu and then probably didn't drink enough.

Need to work on stomache issues.
Transition 2
  • 01m 20s
Comments:

Smooth transition. Legs were happy to be off bike.
Run
  • 28m 37s
  • 3.11 miles
  • 09m 12s  min/mile
Comments:

My legs felt fied so I pretty much gave up on hitting any real goals. I gave up too soon. I forgot from the past that I usually run much better off the bike than on a stand alone run, I'm not sure why. Anyway, I wanted to get under 1:55. With the heavy winds on the bike I gave up on that. Then I wanted under 2:00 hours. But I thought the way my legs felt I was doing 10-11 minute miles. Completely miised the 1 mile sign or I would have realized I was moving quicker. Decided at about 1.5 miles to do some walking and grab some water. Had a tough time getting going again. Realized at mile 2 I had been setting a decent pace(for me) and that I could have made it under 2 hours. Alas, I had wasted too much time. Live and learn.

Never give up and take it easier.
Post race