General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ironman goal Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2007-08-10 6:49 PM
in reply to: #919924

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Ironman goal
thanks again for all the advice guys and gals, for those of you that just got into swimming recently with no background it, did you use a coach or self taught? I would obvioulsy love to hire a coach for all 3 disciplines but can't really afford it, But I am considering getting a swim coach for a fe lessons to work on my form and what not.

cheers

2007-08-10 7:15 PM
in reply to: #921838

User image

Expert
Seattle WA

I couldn't swim at all before I started training (just over 2 years ago). I got the Total Immersion book and DVD, which helped a good bit. I used those for the first season of tris (sprints). I then decided to get a TI coach at the beginning of my 2nd season of tris - but I don't think that helped me too much. I think by that point I had already mastered the TI basics (balance), a nd so the lessons didn't make such marked improvement.

I made a large amount of progress during the end of my 2nd season and over last winter just by swimming a lot, mostly with a master's group. One key I found was to point my toes - which took of 5-10sec/100yds (!!!).

I would look at TI. If you're diligent, you can probably get a large degree of benefit from the book/DVD route - especially if you can get someone to look at your posture in the water and help you correct things, according to what the book says. If you have the added money for a TI clinic or swim coach, that would also help, especially if you're having trouble with the book/DVD route.

But after you get past a certain point (~2:00/100yds), I thi nk you just have to swim a good bit to get down to ~1:40/100yds. After that point it becomes finer points of technique to get faster.

I hope that helps.

Good luck!

tom 

2007-08-10 7:24 PM
in reply to: #919924

User image

Champion
Fountain Hills, AZ